Tacita Dean Named Winner of Sixth Hugo Boss Prize

Tacita Dean Named Winner of Sixth Hugo Boss Prize


Exhibition of the Artist’s Work Presented at the Guggenheim from February 23–June 6, 2007

NEW YORK, NY – November 14, 2006 – Thomas Krens, Director, Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation, Lisa Dennison, Director, Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, and Dr. Bruno Saelzer, Chairman and CEO, HUGO BOSS AG, today announced that Tacita Dean has been named the winner of the biennial HUGO BOSS PRIZE. Tacita Dean is the sixth artist to win the prestigious prize since it was established in 1996 to recognize significant achievement in contemporary art. The HUGO BOSS PRIZE is administered by the Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation and presided over by an international jury of museum curators and directors. Tacita Dean was selected from a group of seven shortlisted artists which included Jennifer Allora (US) & Guillermo Calzadilla (Puerto Rico); John Bock (Germany); Damián Ortega (Mexico); Aïda Ruilova (US); and Tino Sehgal (UK), in addition to Dean (UK). An exhibition of Tacita Dean’s work will be presented at the Guggenheim Museum from February 23 through June 6, 2007.

“It has been over a decade since the Guggenheim entered into this collaboration with HUGO BOSS to administer the prize that bears its name,” said Thomas Krens. “Since its inception, the HUGO BOSS PRIZE has recognized the most innovative artists of our time and has evolved into one of the premier juried prizes of the contemporary art world. Tacita Dean joins an illustrious group of extraordinarily talented artists who have received the prize.”

"We are very proud to be celebrating the tenth jubilee of the HUGO BOSS PRIZE. This milestone underscores the importance of the accolade which has become an established feature of the contemporary art scene," said Dr. Bruno Saelzer, Chairman and CEO of HUGO BOSS.

According to the HUGO BOSS PRIZE criteria, the award is given to an artist whose work represents a significant development in contemporary art. The prize sets no restrictions in terms of age, gender, race, nationality, or media, and the nominations may include young and emerging artists, as well as established individuals whose public recognition may be long overdue. The prize carries with it an award of $50,000.

Past HUGO BOSS PRIZE winners include: American artist Matthew Barney (1996); Scottish artist Douglas Gordon (1998); Slovenian artist Marjetica Potr? (2000); French artist Pierre Huyghe (2002); and Thai artist Rirkrit Tiravanija (2004).

This year, the jurors of the HUGO BOSS PRIZE 2006 are: Jennifer Blessing, Curator of Photography, Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum; Silvia Karman Cubiñá, Director, The Moore Space, Miami; Massimiliano Gioni, Artistic Director, Fondazione Nicola Trussardi, Milan, and Curator, New Museum of Contemporary Art, New York ; Vicente Todoli, Director, Tate Modern, London; and Maria-Christina Villaseñor, Associate Curator of Film and Media Art, Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum.

The list of finalists in previous years includes: Laurie Anderson, Janine Antoni, Stan Douglas, Cai Guo Qiang, and Yasumasa Morimura in 1996; Lee Bul, William Kentridge, Huang Yong Ping, Pipilotti Rist, and Lorna Simpson in 1998; Vito Acconci, Maurizio Cattelan, Michael Elmgreen & Ingar Dragset, Tom Friedman, Barry Le Va, and Tunga in 2000; Francis Alÿs, Olafur Eliasson, Koo Jeong-a, Hachiya Kazuhiko, and Anri Sala in 2002; and Franz Ackermann, Yang Fudong, Rivane Neuenschwander, Jeroen de Rijke and Willem de Rooij, and Simon Starling in 2004.

Since 1995, HUGO BOSS has provided critical support to many of the Guggenheim Museum’s programs and exhibitions. In addition to the HUGO BOSS PRIZE, the company has helped to make possible retrospectives of the work of artists Georg Baselitz, Ross Bleckner, Francesco Clemente, Ellsworth Kelly, Robert Rauschenberg, Matthew Barney, and James Rosenquist, as well as architect Frank Gehry.

The HUGO BOSS PRIZE is administered at the Guggenheim Museum by Joan Young, Associate Curator of Contemporary Art, with Nancy Spector, Curator of Contemporary Art and Director of Curatorial Affairs.

In conjunction with the HUGO BOSS PRIZE 2006, the Guggenheim has published a catalogue that features the work of all of the finalists, including special projects by each artist. The catalogue, designed by karlssonwilker, Inc., includes essays by Yates McKee on Jennifer Allora & Guillermo Calzadilla, Rein Wolfs on John Bock, Mark Godfrey on Tacita Dean, Adam Szymczyk on Damián Ortega, Joan Young on Aïda Ruilova, and Nancy Spector on Tino Sehgal. The catalogue is available for $24.95.

November 14, 2006

Betsy Ennis
Guggenheim Public Affairs
Tel: 212 423-3842

Press images

Press Images

Download high resolution, press-approved images.

contact us

Have a media inquiry? Contact us for more information.