Guggenheim Museum Named Historic Landmark

Multimedia Guides Sponsored by Bloomberg

Free Guggenheim App

Download the app to explore the Guggenheim collection, plan your visit, watch videos, and more.

Harold Loeb, Broom 1, no. 3, 1923

Guggenheim Blogs

Explore art and ideas from around the world on our Webby Award–nominated blogs.

View of Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum exterior

On October 7, 2008, Secretary of the Interior Dirk Kempthorne designated 16 new sites in 11 states as National Historic Landmarks. In naming the Guggenheim Museum, the Department of the Interior described the museum as “one of Frank Lloyd Wright’s most important commissions.” The Landmark designation goes on to say: “Built between 1956 and 1959, the museum is recognized as an icon of mid-20th century modern architecture. . . . The Guggenheim launched the great and continuing age of museum architecture, where the building is a central part of the museum experience, on par with its contents.”

The Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum's restored facade was revealed in fall 2008. Photo: David Heald