The Hugo Boss Prize honors outstanding achievement in contemporary art, celebrating the work of remarkable artists whose practices are among the most innovative and influential of our time. Over the past two decades juries for the Prize have identified and selected as finalists paradigm-shifting artists from around the world, recognizing the achievements of both emerging and established figures, and setting no parameters in terms of age, gender, or medium. Juried by an international panel of distinguished museum directors, curators, and critics, the biennial prize is administered by the Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation and carries an award of $100,000.

The following artists have been selected as the finalists for the Hugo Boss Prize 2016: Tania Bruguera (b. 1968, Havana; Mark Leckey (b. 1964, Birkenhead, UK); Ralph Lemon (b. 1952, Cincinnati); Laura Owens (b. 1970, Euclid, Ohio); Wael Shawky (b. 1971, Alexandria, Egypt); and Anicka Yi (b. 1971, Seoul). The Hugo Boss Prize 2016 winner will be announced in the fall of 2016, and the exhibition will be held in 2017.

Since its inception in 1996, the Hugo Boss Prize has been awarded to American artist Matthew Barney (1996); Scottish artist Douglas Gordon (1998); Slovenian artist Marjetica Potrč (2000); French artist Pierre Huyghe (2002); Thai artist Rirkrit Tiravanija (2004); British artist Tacita Dean (2006); Palestinian artist Emily Jacir (2008); German artist Hans-Peter Feldmann (2010); Danish artist Danh Vo (2012); and American artist Paul Chan (2014).

Previous finalists include Laurie Anderson, Janine Antoni, Cai Guo-Qiang, Stan Douglas, and Yasumasa Morimura in 1996; Huang Yong Ping, William Kentridge, Lee Bul, Pipilotti Rist, and Lorna Simpson in 1998; Vito Acconci, Maurizio Cattelan, Michael Elmgreen and Ingar Dragset, Tom Friedman, Barry Le Va, and Tunga in 2000; Francis Alÿs, Olafur Eliasson, Hachiya Kazuhiko, Koo Jeong-a, and Anri Sala in 2002; Franz Ackermann, Rivane Neuenschwander, Jeroen de Rijke and Willem de Rooij, Simon Starling, and Yang Fudong in 2004; Allora & Calzadilla, John Bock, Damián Ortega, Aïda Ruilova, and Tino Sehgal in 2006; Christoph Büchel, Patty Chang, Sam Durant, Joachim Koester, and Roman Signer in 2008; Cao Fei, Roman Ondák, Walid Raad, Natascha Sadr Haghighian, and Apichatpong Weerasethakul in 2010; and Trisha Donnelly, Rashid Johnson, Qiu Zhijie, Monika Sosnowska, and Tris Vonna-Michell in 2012; and Sheela Gowda, Camille Henrot, Hassan Khan, and Charline von Heyl in 2014.

Timeline of the Hugo Boss Prize

Hugo Boss Prize
Time Line

Take a tour through the history of this prestigious art award.

Multimedia Guides

Supported by
Bloomberg Philanthropies

Download the free app to explore the Guggenheim collection, plan your visit, watch videos, and more.

Marxz Rosado, The Process for Attaining the Signature of Pedro Albizu Campos in Neon Lights (Proceso para conseguir la firma de Pedro Albizu Campos en luces de neón), 1977–2002

Guggenheim Blogs

Explore art and ideas from around the world on our Webby Award–nominated blogs.